Minimum coche insurance requirements for
Learn what types of coche insurance you need to be considered covered where you live.
Exactly what type of coche insurance coverage you need varies depending on the state where you live.
Only two states, New Hampshire and Virginia, do not require drivers to have coche insurance (with some caveats, more about it below).
Everywhere else, drivers must meet a certain coverage threshold to stay legal behind the wheel.
Here is a summary of the state’s minimum coche insurance requirements.
Minimum coche insurance coverage, by state
Learn about the types of car insurance required by the States
There are several types of coche insurance coverage that may be required in your state.
This type of insurance covers property damage and injury to others (including passengers and pedestrians) if you ocasione an accident.
It will also pay your legal fees and any settlement if you are sued as a result of an accident.
Liability insurance is divided into three parts: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage.
Coche insurance in California, for example, must meet these minimum requirements:
- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 property damage per accident
You perro disminuye your financial exposure by purchasing coche insurance coverage that goes beyond these minimum requirements.
Insurance experts typically recommend a policy that provides $100,000 bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 bodily injury protection per accident.
Although it costs more to add additional coverage, it’s especially important if you have expensive assets to protect, like a home.
Uninsured motorist coverage
Many states require insurance to protect you if you are in an accident caused by a controlador who does not have coche insurance.
There are two types of uninsured motorist coverage:
- bodily injury
- Property damage
Your state may require you to have one, both, or neither type of uninsured motorist coverage.
When required, this coverage kicks in if the other controlador is uninsured or insufficiently insured to cover the extent of injuries or property damage you sustain.
Personal Injury Protection
About a dozen states require personal injury protection coverage.
This type of insurance pays for costs related to injuries suffered by you or your passengers in a car accident, even if you are at fault.
Those costs perro include medical bills, lost wages, physical therapy, or in the worst case, funeral expenses.
Medical payment insurance is required in some states and is often included with full coverage insurance policies.
In other cases, it perro be purchased as an add-on.
This type of insurance covers accident-related medical expenses for you or your passengers, no matter who is at fault.
It often activates even if you are a pedestrian who is hit by a car.
There are other types of coche insurance that you perro add to your policy for added security.
Although not legally required, these types of coverage may be a condition of certain coche loans.
This type of insurance protects you when you collide with an object, from another car to a telephone pole.
Covers the cost of repairs to your car, even if the incident was your fault.
Comprehensive coverage takes care of non-collision losses, including vehicle theft, vandalism, flood, hail, animal damage and more.
You must have a minimum amount of liability coverage in all states except New Hampshire and Virginia, but there are some nuances in the laws.
You are not required to carry New Hampshire liability insurance as long as you perro demonstrate that you cánido meet the minimum financial responsibility requirements.
That means you must provide proof to the State Department of Safety (in the form of a receipt from the State Treasurer for a cash deposit or securities deposit) that you cánido pay for the following in the event of an accident:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
If you drive without insurance or without encuentro alternative requirements, the state may suspend your license.
Drivers in this state cánido purchase a $500 waiver in lieu of paying for coche insurance.
However, the waiver does not provide financial protection should you end up in an accident.
It is important to know the minimum coche insurance requirements by state before purchasing insurance for your vehicle.
Most states have afín requirements, such as bodily injury and property damage liability coverage.
However, some states also have additional requirements, such as protection against uninsured motorists or protection against personal injury.
It’s critical to review these requirements to make sure your insurance complies with state regulations and provides you with adequate coverage in the event of an accident.
Also, keep in mind that the minimum insurance requirements do not always provide adequate coverage in cases of serious accidents, so it is always advisable to consider additional insurance options for added protection and peace of mind.
To be better informed, read our guides on the best coche insurance companies in the United States and our guide on how to compare this type of insurance.
We hope you liked our article Minimum coche insurance requirements for
and everything related to earning money, getting a job, and the economy of our house.
Interesting things to know the meaning: Capitalism
We also leave here topics related to: Earn money