Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?

Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?

He European Parliament It is an institution that is in charge of representing the citizens members of the countries of the European Union. The parliamentary committees They are working bodies made up of deputies who are in charge of preparing legislative proposals and own initiative reports, they are also in charge of drafting amendments and approving them.

These commissions are in charge of specific issues of general interest that need to be regulated and they meet twice a month in Brussels and their debates are public.

What do the specialized committees of the European Parliament deal with and who appoints them?

The special commissions are created by the plenary on the proposal of the Conference of Presidents and are dedicated to specific issues that require immediate attention.

In its creation, its composition, its functions, and the duration of its mandate will be specified, which may not exceed twelve months, unless after said period, the plenary session of the European Parliament grants an extension if necessary.

Some examples of special commissions that have been established are: Commission on Terrorism, Commission on Financial Crimes and Tax Evasion and Avoidance and Commission for the fight against cancerto mention a few.

How are the committees of the European Parliament made up?

The Committees of the European Parliament are made up of a number of deputies that oscillates between 25 and 81, and each one has a presidency, one or several vice-presidents, a table and a secretariat. The political composition of the commissions reflects that of the Plenary.

Currently the permanent commissionswhich have an indefinite duration character are:

  • Committee on Foreign Affairs

  • Development Commission;

  • International Trade Commission;

  • Budget Committee;

  • Budgetary Control Commission;

  • Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs;

  • Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety;

  • Industry, Research and Energy Commission;

  • Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection;

  • Transport and Tourism Commission;

  • Regional Development Commission;

  • Agriculture and Rural Development Commission;

  • Fisheries Commission;

  • Culture and Education Commission;

  • Legal Affairs Committee;

  • Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs;

  • Constitutional Affairs Commission;

  • Commission for Women’s Rights and Gender Equality;

  • Petitions Commission.

Countries that make up the European Parliament

The European Parliament is made up of 751 deputies from 27 countries; Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Poland, Romania, Netherlands, Belgium, Greece, Hungary, Portugal, Sweden, Czech Republic, Austria, Bulgaria, Finland, Denmark, Slovakia, Ireland, Croatia, Lithuania, Latvia, Slovenia, Estonia, Cyprus, Luxembourg and Malta.

The number of deputies of the European Parliament of each Member State this provided in the Article 3 of Decision 2013/312/EU of the European Council.

We hope you liked our article Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?
and everything related to earning money, getting a job, and the economy of our house.

 Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?
  Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?
  Committees of the European Parliament What is it about?

Interesting things to know the meaning: Currency

We also leave here topics related to: Earn money